What else have I been doing?

It seems that recently, I have been making masks for key workers and doing little else. While this is a ‘no brainer’ for me (I have a sewing machine and a skill that has been and continues to be needed during this pandemic), however, when I start dreaming about making masks with donated fabric, I like to change things up a little.

So, what else have I been doing?

Making masks for friends

I love every one of my friends and have been happy to make masks for them. Maybe a little selfish, but I want them to be safe and alive – mostly so I can pester them in the future!

For a close friend who is also a Harry Potter fan… I had to choose the fabric below. I wasn’t as pleased with my standard of sewing on this however and was aware that I needed to do some fine tuning to produce a mask I was happy with.

So, when I saw a picture of one of my friends using a scarf as a mask and looking somewhat like a gangster I had to step in to make these. The fabric was a dream to work with and I am so pleased with how they looked.

If you would like a mask made for you (I believe they will become mandatory on public transport at some stage), they retail for £8 each. Please feel free to contact me to discuss fabric choice and size of mask.

A birthday present

I have also been making a birthday present for a little boy who may not be able to have the birthday party he so wants this year. The fabric in this case was purchased from https://www.thequiltshop.co.uk/ . They were really helpful when I called them to check the best colour orange to go with the glow in the dark Star Wars fabric.

Prices are calculated individually for something like this, so if you would like anything similar, please contact me directly.

A lock down treat

I had an email from a wonderful lady I had made some knitting needle roll up cases for before Christmas.

She wanted a small sewing needle case, something she could keep a pair of scissors in and some needles and pins.

The inspiration came from a design on Etsy, so I explained to my customer that I am often reluctant to copy from other crafters and suggested she had a look at what was available and compare what was there with the design I had sketched out for her.

Having had a look at what was available, I was delighted that she did come back to me and said that there was nothing she liked, or that was to the standard I would make it to and, could I make something for her in bright floral fabric. When she received the case I was so happy to hear that she loved what I had made for her.

Unfortunately though, I did not take pictures, so the images below are of a similar one I made.

If you are interested in something similar, the case retails for £10 plus p&p

Baby sandal tester pair

This is a project I have had in mind for a while. I adore making the little crib shoes but I wanted to create something for the summer.

There was nothing I could find that I was thinking of so I took the risk and made my own pattern.

The result is below:

I am really happy with the way they have worked out but I need to road test them. As they don’t fit me they are going to a my Husband’s god daughter. I will keep up posted on her feedback!

Until my next blog, stay safe and well.

Sarah x

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started