Still Light Tunic

In the evenings I enjoy knitting. Not only does the repetition help calm my brain, but it stops me munching on chocolate.

I learnt to knit about 5 years ago and since moving to a beautiful village in Hampshire am lucky enough to a have a local knitting shop nearby called Beaker Button. https://www.beakerbutton.co.uk/

It is with the help of the owner, Jen, that I have gained much more confidence and sought much needed advice to try new techniques in knitting and this tunic was my biggest project yet.

I bought the wool from Beaker Button. It is West Yorkshire Spinners signature 4 ply in Peony. This comes in 100 gram skeins and I used 6 in total to make the size XL.

The pattern itself comes from Ravelry. While fairly simple to follow, I did come across a few difficulties in the pattern instructions, however, the Ravelry community were a fantastic help

If you click on this link:. https://www.ravelry.com/projects/Sarahcdon/still-light-tunic you will be taken to my notes section on the project where hopefully I will answer some of the problems you may encounter. Failing this, if you enjoy knitting it is a good idea to create a Ravelry log in as this will give you access to many hints, tips and patterns. There always seems to be someone who will answer you plea for help.

The top itself took me about 2 months. If you don’t enjoy all knitting projects, I would be inclined to avoid this project.

I have worn this top many times since I made it. I am 5’5″ and it falls to the knee on me. I wear it as a tunic with leggings, but you could easily wear it is a dress. Having the pockets is an added bonus.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started